top of page
Writer's pictureSooin Lee

BE positive- don't learn it the hard way like i did...

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

Christine skipped to school, twirling her hair between her fingers. She plastered a bright smile and continued to skip and then.... stopped--- Her smile instantly turned into an unpleasant frown and one feet was still in the air, practically dangling. "Why is MY friend with that unpopular idiot?" she asks herself her eyes narrowing and her long nails digging deeply into her palms as she balls her hands into fists. "HI!" she says ignoring the unpopular kid, and hugs her friend with a radiant smile. She gives her a smile back but it's a fake one, totally annoyed. She walks to the bathroom to see them laughing together. She goes into the bathroom stall and lets the tears fall.

So this is what has been happening for the past month. First a introduction of my class cliques. There are 3 girl cliques. First, there's the boy-&-girl clique. The boys are pretty popular but all 3 girls are the "unpopular" girls. Our group is the 5 girls group. We're best friends and meet up every now and then to go roller skating or to just hang out. And the last clique is made up of slime girls. They aren't extremely popular but they're quite considerate.

Anyway, one of the girls from the boys-&-girls clique started playing with our group. TO be specific one of us 5. I was her friend and though she sometimes got annoying I did play with her. However, I couldn't stand to see her playing with OUR friend. It wasn't only me that felt like that either. I hid my feelings though, unwilling to cause any problems that were unnecessary.

Well one time our class was at the library reading books. Our group sat together and were reading. One of my friends was leaning on me as I rested one of my hand on top of her head. Then, the girl that kept bothering us came and asked if she could sit down. Our friend, the girl she constantly played with was picking out books. The rest of them all looked at me as to see what I wanted. Their eyes had firm "NO's" but I couldn't say NO to her since that would lead to trouble. I continued to pretend to read my book. Then they looked at me again with raised eyebrows.

I avoided the looks along with the unpopular girl's hurt and irritated look. "Go and sit with the boys you like so much OR go sit with your boyfriend!" I wanted to say... I finally looked up under the pressure and gave her a quick tilt of the head for her to sit down. She sat down right next to our friend's seat. :(

I did realize one thing though. If you're mad forever and keep feeling hatred, don't show it and try to be positive. I know you all heard this phrase or something similar to this phrase multiple times but this has always worked for me. The world is not a fair place with no doubt and holding a grudge against it won't have a single effect. So try to understand at the very least what is happening and keep smiling at everyone. Nobody likes someone that is constantly frowning and having complaints. And maybe that smile will turn into a real smile! :-)


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Blog Is OLD.

Like, really old. Three...years old. Well, not THAT old, but VERY old in...blog...age. Good to see that my writing has not improved at...

Thank You, and Happy New Year

We finished 5th grade without major problems. I send my thanks to everyone. Thank you guys so much for being such wonderful friends. I...

THANK YOU

I am not sure if ur gonna check this but thank u 4 being the best teacher PT and thank u guys 4 being wonderful friends. u made PEAI...

Comments


bottom of page