top of page
Writer's pictureIrene

Korean Debate

"Write an full, 2 minute speech until next Monday or you will be written in the board of shame and be left to clean up the classroom." That is seriously what my teacher said today. She said that we will do Korean Debate. How Fun. I'm not being really sarcastic but real, Korean Debate is very different from English Debate.

For instance, there is no interrupting, or POIs. Seriously? 70% of the debate is made up of POIs! However, in this weird Korean Debate, you have to politely wait until your turn is up. That will make me very frustrated. However, the other team will keep on saying things that are bias or is very weird. In the English Version, you can say "Mr speaker, the other team is being sturbborn and is being foolish. Surely they should think before they say anything, and currently, nothing about their writing makes sense." However, I have tried that once in my Korean class. I did that, and a kid almost cried. Seriously, I didn't know that it was that kind of thing! Also, even if I knew it, I would still be accustomed to the English Debate, so I would be pretty bad at doing it. Another problem is that my partner is so weird. He is that partner that I wrote in my blog post, and he literally doesn't do anything at all. We're supposed to work together!! Is he going to make my scores on the report card a big fat zero? He was so annoying that I decided that so kind me would do all the writing and so annoying him would read it out aloud. Surely he would know how to read, wouldn't he? The thing that I want to state finally is that you should really never try to do Korean Debate unless necessary.

4 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Blog Is OLD.

Like, really old. Three...years old. Well, not THAT old, but VERY old in...blog...age. Good to see that my writing has not improved at...

Thank You, and Happy New Year

We finished 5th grade without major problems. I send my thanks to everyone. Thank you guys so much for being such wonderful friends. I...

THANK YOU

I am not sure if ur gonna check this but thank u 4 being the best teacher PT and thank u guys 4 being wonderful friends. u made PEAI...

2 Comments


Isaac Seo
Isaac Seo
Nov 24, 2019

Me: Burn the school down

Everyone: (Really politely) Now I get your point, and I agree with you, but my point of view is- alalalalalalalalala

Like

Sooin Lee
Sooin Lee
Nov 23, 2019

IKR?!?! Korean debate is sooooo weird and the kids are horrible at it. It's like they don't know what the heck they're supposed to say. I totally bet I can beat them all alone.. LOL:) I totally understand you on the point of being polite!!! I mean, who in the world says 'I really agree with them and now I will give my point of view on this topic' ?!?!?!

Like
bottom of page