top of page
Writer's picture😁😎Jenna<3

KOREAN DEBATE-ONCE AGAIN

HELLO GUYS!!! This is going to be about the annoying Korean debate, which Irene made a blog post about, and I am going to do some more of bullying korean debate!

As you guys already know, we have a unit of Debate in language arts and it is different from the debate that we know. And by different, I mean totally different, like another subject! It is soooooooo annoying because we have to be nice. And it's hard to be nice when it's a contest, you know what I mean? Like how are you nice to your literal enemies? I just don't get that in the first place. Our teacher said if you aren't nice in debate, it turns into a fight in real life! Well Mr. Speaker, we are incredibly aggressive in PEAI debate, and we are clearly doing just fine every debate!!!!! Basically, we have to be 'respectful' with the other team's idea, and 'respect' our opponents. AND EVEN WORSE, OUR TEACHER MADE A RULE OF HAVING TO START THE SPEECH WITH "WE RESPECT THE OTHER TEAM'S IDEA, BUT WE HAVE ANOTHER IDEA THAT MIGHT HELP US". I mean, LITERALLY, NO EXAGGERATIONS!!

The closest thing to rebuttal is politely raising your hand and saying, "We believe that _____________ might be a better way, even though the other team is also right"


because there wasn't anything like a POI, I got frustrated in the middle so I made a boisterous loud AAARRRRGHGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH sound in the middle of a speech. Then, our teacher got mad at me and said we should always be openminded towards other ideas.


Even worse, she said, "EH Hem, so kids, the purpose of debate is to hear from people who have different ideas from you. WHAt really matters, is not that you are the better arguer, but being able to be flexible with your ideas, and get a different idea from what you had before. A truly perfect debate is where the teams change, and get persuaded to believe in other people's ideas. Always be open-minded and respectful in debate."


I HATE KOREAN DEBATE

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Blog Is OLD.

Like, really old. Three...years old. Well, not THAT old, but VERY old in...blog...age. Good to see that my writing has not improved at...

Thank You, and Happy New Year

We finished 5th grade without major problems. I send my thanks to everyone. Thank you guys so much for being such wonderful friends. I...

THANK YOU

I am not sure if ur gonna check this but thank u 4 being the best teacher PT and thank u guys 4 being wonderful friends. u made PEAI...

Comments


bottom of page