top of page
Writer's pictureSarah♡

Pop vs. Kpop 🎶

Hi everyone and today I will be posting about a comparison essay on Pop vs. Kpop! (PS. This is not part of the essay)

Official Essay:

One girl enters Olive Young, and hears 2002 by Annemarie, and hears Kill this Love by BlackPink in Starbucks. How different can they be? Many people would ask. Well, though Kpop and Pop is quite similar together, major differences occurred in mood, member, and names.

First off, Pop songs. Pop songs, as we already know, was invented in Europe, while Kpop belonged to Korea, which obviously made lots of differences. One of them were first, mood. Even though pop songs are mostly energetic, a huge amount of them are also quite gloomy and sad. One example of this can be Billie Eilish. She sang lots of droopy songs like Bury a friend, or When the party's over. And there are other songs too, which are more of a sad and droopy song, rather than a very cheerful one such as Roar by Katy Perry. So, a lot of Pop songs are very sad, and not so energetic. Second, the members. A majority of famous Pop singers we know are solos. To demonstrate, there is Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, or Ariana Grande. If you go into some Pop song playlists, I doubt the majority will be from groups. Well, I am not saying there aren't famous Pop groups such as Maroon 5 or Little Mix. Though, you can't argue with the fact that there are so much more Solo singers in Pop than groups. Lastly, the names. This kind of continues on on the member issue. You see, when you search all different singers that are related to Pop, about 80% uses their real name, and does not use lots of nicknames. Well, they might HAVE nicknames, but mostly they use their real names like Ariana Grande or Ed Sheeran. So, I guess that my last point is their name they use on albums, videos, accounts, etc.

The next part, Kpop. i will move straight to my points. First off, the mood in Kpop I believe 90% of the time is very energetic. The groups are mostly always dancing very fiercely, or cutely, but never sadly. I guess their whole point is just to kind of be very energetic on stage for the audience, and cheer up their mood. Besides, the only song I know are quite droopy is Stay by BlackPInk. So, I guesss you can see the difference now between the mood of Kpop and Pop. Next off, members. While as I said in the 2nd paragraph thatmost famous Pop singers are solos, it is the complete opposite for Kpop singers. I belive everyone knows this, but I am just explaining it. The famous soloists I know of are Chung-Ha, and IU. Besides, the world leading Kpop singers, BTS and BlackPink are all groups, not soloists. Last but not least, the names. Even though pop singers do not use lots of nicknames and msotly use their own name like Anne Marie or Taylor Swift, it is probably the opposite for Kpop singers. Even soloists, like IU uses nicknames, or names that are not their real ones. And, BTS who has RM, Suga, V, Jungkook, J-Hope, Jin, and Jimin, most of them are nicknames except for Jungkook, Jin, and Jimin. And Twice is also famous for nicknames. They are nearly all nicknames, exceptfor Nayeon, Jeongyeon, Chaehyun, and Dahyun.

In the end, I have shown you 3 differences of Pop and Kpop, which I hope have helped. Pop has lots of sad songs, soloists, and real name using singers. Conversely, Kpop has lots of energetic songs, groups, and nickname using singers. Both type of music genre is respectable, and are not to be judged harshly. Thus, I believe that both types are very creative, and should be loved by many fans throughout the globe.



PS. Bonus video: Cute BlackPink & BTS moments. Click to see: BlackPInk BTS

14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Blog Is OLD.

Like, really old. Three...years old. Well, not THAT old, but VERY old in...blog...age. Good to see that my writing has not improved at...

Thank You, and Happy New Year

We finished 5th grade without major problems. I send my thanks to everyone. Thank you guys so much for being such wonderful friends. I...

THANK YOU

I am not sure if ur gonna check this but thank u 4 being the best teacher PT and thank u guys 4 being wonderful friends. u made PEAI...

2 Comments


Sarah♡
Sarah♡
Aug 02, 2019

Yeah ME2

Like

💗Julie Choi💗
💗Julie Choi💗
Aug 02, 2019

Ok. So I like all of them

Like
bottom of page