top of page

DO YOU WANT TO LIVE IN A SOCIETY OF THE GIVER???

Hello^^ Today, I am gonna talk about The Giver, which I believe everyone read.

A book loving, 4th grade girl went to the school library and started reading a book. The girl was surprised at the story and shivered thinking that the world of the book is non-sense. She did not want to live in the society of the book that had no freedom of choice and was boring. I believe that the society of the Giver is a horrible place to live.


First, the society of the Giver has no freedom of choice. They do not get to choose babies, jobs, and wife/husbands. The Elders even vanished hills, weather, or color. This gives no freedom to choose to the citizens, and even seem unfair. It is their life, so they should choose how to live, and of course, should be responsible for their choices. Still, the freedom of choice is very important. Let's say the Elder chose your job, BUT you do not like it. You can't say something because it was not your fault. The society of the Giver is a horrible place to live because it has no freedom of choice. However, this is not the only weakness of the Giver society.



Also, the society of the Giver is boring. With very strict and harsh rules, it makes everyone same. People should have their personality and should be unique. Rules like when to get a bike, when to have a job, or when to receive children make everyone same. Sameness, as they call. For example, when Asher accidentally said smack instead of snack at a young age, the teacher smacked him for a bad word usage. THE society wants everyone to use the same words and be same. Asher did not say a swear word or a BAD word. WE should not live in the society of the Giver because it wants to make people same.


To conclude, the society of the Giver is a terrible place to live because it has no freedom of choice and is boring. I hope that the world does not turn like the society of Giver until... the earth dies.


P.S. Do you want to live in a society like the Giver???????????????????????????????????


It is all for today. Bye~~

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

dearmefromthepast

Dearmefromthepast, Hello, me from the past. 2019 is almost over like after 4 days it's over so I decided to think about how my 5th grade ...

to myself(I guess...)

To my past self, I was really worried about debating because I was probably sure that I was the worst student on the subjects of...

1 Kommentar


Chic Sarah
Chic Sarah
16. Mai 2019

N.O. spells NO

Gefällt mir
bottom of page